top of page
Search

Family

When I lost my brother, I realized how quickly someone could enter your life and leave it out of nowhere, leaving you unprepared to move on and accept the fact. I grew up in a big family, tons of cousins, tons of aunts, and uncles. I am so lucky to have so much of my family in Minnesota, so much Christmas joy, thanksgiving laughs, and Easter egg hunts. When I was growing up, I learned that my brother was the star of my family; everyone loved him. I mean, how could you not? He lit up every room he entered. And I was okay with that. When he passed, everyone's world spun around. I lost control. I grew distant from my family when I really should have grown closer. I had so much drama with my cousins due to my inner madness. I didn't feel like I could be like myself around my family because I wasn't used to being alone. This past summer, I lost one of my cousins that I felt closest with out of my whole family. When the tragedy hit me, I concluded that I couldn't shut myself out from my family any longer. I became more mature, my younger cousins weren't so little anymore, and I wasn't either. My parents have always supported me no matter what the circumstances were, my number one fans. My grandmas are my everything, so knowledgeable with the wisest advice and exciting stories. I took a look at my family this summer, and it sparked me that I wouldn't be the young woman I am today; they make me who I am. Yes, every family has ups and downs, but no matter what, family will always be there for you like no other friend. My mom and dad taught me to never show up late to a family event and never leave early because those are moments you may never get again. My point is you never know when your world and support system can come to an end, so hold on to what you have.

209 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Angels

Once I read this poem by The Healing Room, " Whenever you find a feather nearby, it's your angels letting you know that they are close...

Moving on

Feelings for another person can change you. When I fell in love for the first time, I thought it was the best feeling in the world, which...

Change

Almost three years ago my brother Nash died. Nash had Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy which makes all the muscles in your body weaken over...

Komentáře


bottom of page